COVID-19 Statement

As we enter what should have been the first week of our Autumn season we wanted to update you on our re-opening plans.  In August, Darwen was removed from the list of areas with greater Covid-19 restrictions and it is now legally possible for Darwen Library Theatre to reopen.

However, due to the national uncertainty about when venues would be allowed to reopen and the ongoing requirement for social distancing, we have taken the decision to postpone most events until November 2020.  We are at the point where we have to make difficult decisions to prioritise our long-term survival and that may mean a few more months of our doors being closed. Social distancing restrictions mean that our capacity drops to less than 30% and, with only 200 seats to begin with, it just isn’t financially viable to deliver the events we had planned. A full list of currently affected events is available below this update.

We are working hard to find alternative ways to keep you entertained which include some streamed events and cinema screenings, and we hope to be able to make an announcement about our Christmas Pantomime soon.

Our staff team remain busy behind the scenes.  At the end of September we are launching a new website where you’ll be able to purchase tickets for Darwen Library Theatre and King George’s Hall directly from us, without the need to use a ticketing agent.

We have applied to Arts Council England for a Cultural Recovery Fund grant are continuing to work to develop a programme of events for our venues that we can deliver in line with government guidelines for the safety of our customers, artists and staff.

As our phased reopening plans develop, we will provide regular updates about how we can do this safely on our website www.darwenlibrarytheatre.com and across our social channels.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

 

Ticketing – Frequently Asked Questions

I have tickets for a show that has been cancelled. Why have I not received a refund as yet?

We are processing orders in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to come to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed. Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

What happens if the performance I have tickets for is rescheduled?

Your booking will automatically transfer to the new date. We will be in touch to confirm these details with you. Should you be unable to make the new date/s, we will be able to process a credit voucher or refund for you.

Why are booking fees not refunded as part of this process?

Booking fees are charged at the time tickets are purchased and cover the costs of processing that booking (staff, website maintenance and physical tickets) and are therefore unrelated to the performance itself.

Please refer to our website and social channels for further updates over the coming weeks.

Confirmed changes to the events calendar are as follows:

 

Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase

 

 

DATE SHOW STATUS
March
Fri 20 March 2020 Clinton Baptiste Rescheduled to: Sat 20 February 2021
Fri 27 March 2020 Arthur Smith Rescheduled to: Sun 14 March 2021
Sat 28 March 2020 PQA: A Musical Extravaganza Rescheduled to:  Saturday 18th July
Sun 29 March 2020 The Bear Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
April
Wed 1 April 2020 AVS Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Fri 3rd April 2020 Billy Mitchell & Bob Fox Rescheduled to Sun 18 Oct 2020
Sat 4 April 2020 Darwen Comedy Club Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Thur 9 April 2020 Simon Evans Rescheduled to Fri 12 March 2021
Sat 18 April 2020 Edwina Hayes Rescheduled to: Sat 17 April 2021
Wed 22 April 2020 Kevin Simm Rescheduled to Fri 16 Jan 2021
Fri 24 April 2020 Lioness Rescheduled to: Wed 25 Nov 2020
Sat 25 Apr 2020 GaGa Rescheduled to: Thurs 19 Nov 2020
Thur 30 Apr 2020 Ruts DC Rescheduled to: Fri 21 Aug 2020
May
Fri 1 May 2020 Cinema Live: Ball & Boe Rescheduled to Sun 7th Feb 2021 at 3pm
Sat 2 May 2020 Darwen Comedy Club Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Sun 3 May 2020 Cinema Live: Ball & Boe Rescheduled to Sun 7th Feb 2021 at 3pm
Wed 6 May 2020 AVS Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Wed 6 May 2020 Clinton Baptiste Rescheduled to: Sun 21 February 2021
Fri 8 May 2020 Beach Body Ready Rescheduled to: Sun 28 March 2021
Sat 9 May 2020 Hue and Cry Rescheduled to Fri 20 November 2020
Sat 16 May 2020 Suzi Ruffell Rescheduled to Sat 27 February 2021
Thu 21 May 2020 Welkin Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Thu 28 May 2020 Rubbish Shakespeare – A Midsummer Night’s Dream Rescheduled to Sun 11 April 2021
Fri 29 May 2020 You’re My World Rescheduled to Fri 19 Feb 2021
June
Wed 3 June 2020 AVS Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Fri 5 June 2020 I,Elizabeth Rescheduled to: Wed 17 March 2021
Sun 7 June 2020  Fleetwood and Friends Rescheduled to: Sun 28th February 2021
Fri 12 June 2020  The Kilkenny’s Rescheduled to: Fri 30 April 2021
Sat 13 June 2020  Ivo Graham Rescheduled to: Sat 08 May 2021
Sat 20 June 2020  Pink Floydian Rescheduled to: Sat 24 April 2021
Sat 27 June 2020 An Audience with Paul Humphries Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
July
Wed 1 July 2020 AVS Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Sun 5 July 2020 Jig Jam Rescheduled to Wed 21 Oct 2020
Fri 10 Jul 2020 Last of the Summer Wine Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Sat 18 Jul 2020
3pm + 6.30pm
PQA: A Musical Extravaganza Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
Thur 23 July 2020 Jack Absolute Flies Again Cancelled –
Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
August
Wed 5 Aug 2020 AVS Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase
September
Thur 17 Sep 2020 Terry Christian Rescheduled to Thur 27 May 2021
Fri 18 Sep 2020 Kiki Dee + Carmelo Luggeri Rescheduled to Fri 24 September 2021
Sat 19 Sep 2020 David Holt Rescheduled to Sat 21 November 2021
Sun 20 Sep 2020 Cinema Live: Ball & Boe Rescheduled to Sun 7th February 2021
Sat 26 Sep 2020 Spear of Destiny Rescheduled to Wed 22 September 2021
Sun 27 Sept 2020  Fleetwood and Friends Rescheduled to: Sun 28th February 2021
October
Sat 10 Oct 2020  David Harper Rescheduled to: Thu 25 Mar 2021
Wed 21 Oct 2020  Jig Jam Rescheduled to: Wed 9 June 2021
Fri 23 Oct 2020  Traveling Wilburys Rescheduled to: Sat 12 June 2021
Sun 25 Oct 2020  Edwina Hayes Rescheduled to: Sat 17 April 2021
Fri 30 Oct 2020  Exciting Science Rescheduled to: Mon 15th February 2021
November
Fri 13 Nov 2020 Henry Normal Rescheduled to Fri 14 May 2021
Fri 20 Nov 2020 Hue and Cry Rescheduled to Fri 23 April 2021
Thu 26 Nov 2020 +
Fri 27 Nov 2020
Bridget Christie Cancelled – Refunds will be actioned at
point of purchase

 

For the most up to date information from Central Government, visit their website: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-information-for-the-public